The History Committee was formed in 1996 for
the purpose of collecting historical material
on St. James’ Church, preserving it, and
informing the congregation of the parish’s
rich heritage. The ultimate objective is to
publish an updated history of the parish.
The Committee’s principal
accomplishments, thus far:
(1) Arranged for the duplication of Vestry
Minutes from 1853 – 1990s with a copy on
permanent file at the Library of Virginia,
(2) Made summaries of Vestry Minutes from
1843 to 1970s; placed findings under headings
for ease of reference.
(3) Discovered documents, other written
material and old photographs, including works
of earlier St. James’ historians; established a
permanent archive of historical material.
(4) Compiled a listing of church artifacts, gifts
and memorials; arranged periodic exhibits and
(5) Collected information on former rectors
and their ministries.
(6) Researched the architectural history of
the church building, parish house and rectory.
(7) Published a church brochure for use with
newcomers, visitors, and the search process.
(8) Prepared written account of Christ’s
Chapel on Baldwin ’s Ridge (1883-1940s), a
mission chapel of St. James’, and its burial
(9) Instrumental in uncovering and
preserving the foundation stones of the
colonial church at Elk Run (1750s) - the first
Anglican Church in Fauquier County and the
first in Hamilton Parish.
(10) Initiated oral history program.
(11) Made presentations on St. James’
Church history at adult forum classes.
Members of the congregation interested in history are encouraged to join
the committee. Please contact: Richard Gookin at 540 347-2919.